



UNITED KINGDOM





	UK	England	Wales	Scotland	Northern Ireland
Land, sq. km	244,000	150,000	21,000	78,000	14,000
Population, min	84	46			1
Capital	London	Londos	Candley	Edinburgh	Delfast
Largest	Belfest, Cerdiff	Liverpool, Oxford	Brecen, Sueney	Glasgew	Belfast
Rivers	Tay	Thamas, Severa	Des	Spery	Bun
Lakes	Look-Lomond	District	Wey	Loof-Nees	Losh-Ney
Mountaina	Ben Nevis	Pennine Chain	Bnewdon	Den Hevia	Kerentull
National Emblems				all a	
Flag		-	2.00		>







red double-decker bus

Big Ben



black taxi cab



a Scotsman in a national costume











BRITISH TRADITIONAL FOODS

British food has traditionally been based on beef, lamb, pork, chicken and fish and generally served with potatoes.









THE MONARCHY



Queen Elizabeth II was born on 21 April 1926 (her birthday is officially celebrated in June); married Prince Philip, the Duke of Edinburgh, on

20 November 1947; acceded to the throne on 6 February 1952; and was crowned on 2 June 1953. Her official

EXECUTIVE POWER

The party which wins majority seats in the House of Commons at a 📰 general election forms



the Government. The Queen appoints its leader as the Prime Minister. The Prime Minister appoints a team of main ministers as the Cabinet (about 20 people) who take decisions on major policy. The second largest party form the official Opposition with its leader and "shadow cabinet". The opposition has a duty to criticise government policies and to present an alternative programme.

LEGISLATIVE POWER



The British constitution, unlike that of other most countries. is

not written as a single document. It is formed partly by statute, partly by common law and partly by convention. It can be altered by an Act of Parliament, or by general agreement to change a convention. British parliamentary system is one of the oldest in the world, it developed slowly during the 13th century after King John's signature of Magna Carta in 1215.

The supreme law-making body in the country is Parliament. It consists of the Sovereign, the House of Lords and the House of Commons.

The House of Lords is made up of hereditary and life peers and peeresses (Lords Temporal), including the law lords appointed to undertake the judicial duties of the House, and the Lord Spiritual (the Archbishops of Canterbury and York and 24 bishops of the Church of England). Its main function is to bring the wide experience of its members (on mid-1990 there were 1,189 of them) into the process of law making. The House of Lords is a revising chamber.

Thank you for your attention!

